RunPod Community Cloud vs Secure Cloud prices
Same GPU, two RunPod tiers. Sorted by the size of the Community Cloud discount.
| GPU | Secure Cloud | Community Cloud | Saving | Saving over 730 h |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RTX 4090 24 GB | $0.89/hr | $0.34/hr | 62% | $401.50 |
| RTX 3090 24 GB | $0.5/hr | $0.22/hr | 56% | $204.40 |
| RTX A6000 48 GB | $0.59/hr | $0.33/hr | 44% | $189.80 |
| RTX 5090 32 GB | $1.19/hr | $0.69/hr | 42% | $365.00 |
| A100 PCIe 80 GB | $1.79/hr | $1.19/hr | 34% | $438.00 |
| H100 SXM 80 GB | $3.99/hr | $2.69/hr | 33% | $949.00 |
| H200 141 GB | $5.29/hr | $3.59/hr | 32% | $1,241.00 |
| H100 PCIe 80 GB | $2.89/hr | $1.99/hr | 31% | $657.00 |
| L40S 48 GB | $1.09/hr | $0.79/hr | 28% | $219.00 |
| A100 SXM 80 GB | $1.79/hr | $1.39/hr | 22% | $292.00 |
Read before comparing
Rankings are the cheapest among tracked providers on our check date, not across the whole market. Vendors we don't track may cost less.
GPU-hours vs wall-clock time
Prices are per GPU-hour: one GPU for one hour. Four GPUs for 10 wall-clock hours is 40 GPU-hours. Per-second billing (serverless) charges only while your code runs; hourly pods bill from start to stop, idle time included; monthly servers bill a flat price whatever you use. A faster GPU can finish the same job in fewer GPU-hours, so the lowest hourly rate isn't always the lowest cost per job.
Hardware differences
The same GPU name can mean different hardware. SXM modules link GPUs over NVLink and run at higher power limits than PCIe cards, so an H100 SXM is usually faster than an H100 PCIe, especially for multi-GPU training. Interconnect between GPUs and nodes (NVLink, InfiniBand, plain Ethernet) is rarely listed on pricing pages; treat it as unknown unless the vendor states it. VRAM decides which models fit at all. Hardware as listed: A100 PCIe 80 GB (PCIe); A100 SXM 80 GB (SXM); H100 PCIe 80 GB (PCIe); H100 SXM 80 GB (SXM); H200 141 GB (not stated); L40S 48 GB (not stated); RTX 3090 24 GB (not stated); RTX 4090 24 GB (not stated); RTX 5090 32 GB (not stated); RTX A6000 48 GB (not stated).
Egress and storage extras
Totals on this page exclude these. Each cell cites the vendor page it came from; unknown means the vendor doesn't publish it there.
| Vendor | Egress | Storage | Interruption / billing terms |
|---|---|---|---|
| RunPod | unknown: Not published on the pricing page. (checked 2026-10-27) | Container disk $0.10/GB/mo; volume disk $0.10/GB/mo running, $0.20/GB/mo idle; network storage $0.07/GB/mo under 1 TB, $0.05/GB/mo over 1 TB. (source, 2026-10-27) | Listed rates are on-demand Pod prices (Secure Cloud and Community Cloud). (source, 2026-10-27) |
Interruptible vs on-demand
Interruptible (preemptible or spot) capacity can be stopped by the vendor mid-job and is usually cheaper; on-demand runs until you stop it. Every rate listed here is on-demand; none is marked interruptible by its vendor.
FAQ
How much less does RunPod Community Cloud cost?
On 2026-10-27, between 22% and 62% below Secure Cloud for the same GPU. The biggest gap was the RTX 4090.
What is the difference between Community Cloud and Secure Cloud?
Community Cloud runs on vetted third-party hosts; Secure Cloud runs in RunPod's partner data centers. Use Secure Cloud for sensitive data or stricter uptime needs.
Where do these prices come from?
runpod.io/pricing, checked 2026-10-27. Both tiers are per-hour on-demand pod rates.
More
- All verified GPU rental prices
- H100: cheapest among tracked providers
- H200: cheapest among tracked providers
- A100: cheapest among tracked providers
- L40S: cheapest among tracked providers
- RTX 4090: cheapest among tracked providers
- RTX 5090: cheapest among tracked providers
- RTX A6000: cheapest among tracked providers
- RunPod vs Thunder Compute vs Modal (H100)
- GPU price per GB of VRAM
- GPU cost calculator
- GPU & compute deals
Using an AI agent? Add Lantern Works to your agent (free MCP server, read-only).